h1

New House

August 3, 2008

Well, the news is that I have moved into my new home with my wife and our daughter/step-daughter!

The move happened two days ago and so these past few days have been unpacking and organizing and seeing what else is necessary for the house and being blissful.  It is sooooo good to now have to share the house with 3 other people and 3 cats and all the fleas the cats bring and all their hair….  Arghhh was going insane in that place.  Here we can organize the place as we want, clean after our own mess, enjoy each other’s books and music!

The only drawback is the money since it is cheap for a 2 bedroom in Oakland/Berkeley but not cheap for the two of us.  It is a challenge which we are both willing to work towards and are willing to be with.

It has been interesting to track the sense of my personal space during these past two weeks.  Up and down and sideways and in and out.  This has been the hardest move that I have made in my life, and I have made plenty of them across countries/continents and from one house to the next.  This one feels big even though it was going from a home in Gainesville Florida to Oakland California.  When I say “even though” I mean that it wasn’t as if I was leaving my family somewhere or leaving “my country” Portugal (or my country Oman).  It feels big and today, as I was doing more unpacking, I felt a real sens of missing my friends in Gainesville… this sense of floating in the Ocean, and really feeling its vastness.

Climbing at the Berkeley climbing gym has been a great resource for me, that and the morning runs.  They both bring my body into the present moment and in that space all the mental and physical worries, past and future ones, quietly drop away.  And possibly, if things in the house feel organized, I’ll take a short weekend bouldering trip to the gorgeous high-country of Tuolumne Meadows.

So I’m sitting on our new used couch listening to Jan Garbarek; in front of me lie boxes, drums, books, a massage table, and crawling over me is golden three-and-a-half year old.

Leave a Reply

